Skip to main content
DisclosureSome pages on this site contain affiliate links; we may earn a commission when you buy through them. Our scores and rankings follow our published methodology; commissions do not influence them. Read our methodology →
HerbClinical dose · 400mg/day of a standardised phospholipid-carrier extract (2 × 200mg) in two placebo-controlled sleep trials; 200mg/day was tested only without a placebo groupOnset · Sleep changes measured after 2–3 weeks with the phospholipid extract; calm and alertness changes measured up to 6 hours after a single dose

Lemon Balm (Melissa officinalis)

The best sleep evidence is for one branded extract. Two placebo-controlled trials of the phospholipid-carrier extract Relissa at 400mg/day found better sleep: in a 2-week crossover in 30 adults, insomnia scores were 2.9 points lower than on placebo (Di Pierro 2024, whose authors include the scientific director of and consultants to Pharmextracta, maker of the tested product), and in a 3-week trial in 100 adults with emotional distress or poor sleep, sleep quality improved, though the treated group started with worse sleep (Bano 2023). An open-label study without placebo found half the sleep-score change at 200mg/day as at 400mg/day (−15% vs −30%). A formula of L-theanine, lemon balm, valerian and saffron was no better than placebo over 6 weeks (Gutiérrez-Romero 2024). In single-dose tests in 20 healthy young adults, the lowest dose raised calmness early, but the highest dose lowered alertness and some doses worsened memory scores (Kennedy 2002), and the largest cognition trial (323 older adults, 96 weeks) found no effect on its primary endpoint (Noguchi-Shinohara 2023).

By The Nootropic Lab editorial teamUpdated 8 min read✓ Fact-checked

Evidence reviewed:

Mechanism of action

Lemon balm (Melissa officinalis) trials use very different preparations: standardised extracts, dried leaf, a branded aqueous leaf extract in a phospholipid carrier (Relissa, from Indena), and extracts standardised to rosmarinic acid. Results from one preparation do not transfer to another, so a product that does not state its extract type or standardisation cannot be matched to a trial.

Clinical evidence summary

The best sleep evidence is for one branded extract. Two placebo-controlled trials of the phospholipid-carrier extract Relissa at 400mg/day found better sleep: in a 2-week crossover in 30 adults, insomnia scores were 2.9 points lower than on placebo (Di Pierro 2024, whose authors include the scientific director of and consultants to Pharmextracta, maker of the tested product), and in a 3-week trial in 100 adults with emotional distress or poor sleep, sleep quality improved, though the treated group started with worse sleep (Bano 2023). An open-label study without placebo found half the sleep-score change at 200mg/day as at 400mg/day (−15% vs −30%). A formula of L-theanine, lemon balm, valerian and saffron was no better than placebo over 6 weeks (Gutiérrez-Romero 2024). In single-dose tests in 20 healthy young adults, the lowest dose raised calmness early, but the highest dose lowered alertness and some doses worsened memory scores (Kennedy 2002), and the largest cognition trial (323 older adults, 96 weeks) found no effect on its primary endpoint (Noguchi-Shinohara 2023).

Human effect matrix

Based on human clinical trials only. Animal and in-vitro data excluded.

EffectEvidenceMagnitudeStudies
Sleep Quality (Phospholipid Extract) preliminary
Small
3
Sleep (Multi-Ingredient Formula) preliminary
Negligible
1
Calm, Alertness & Memory (Single Doses) mixed
Small
1
Cognition (Older Adults) mixed
Negligible
1

Evidence key: Strong = multiple consistent RCTs · Moderate = smaller/fewer RCTs · Preliminary = early trials or small n · Mixed = conflicting results

Documented benefits

  • Better sleep scores with 400mg/day of a phospholipid-carrier extract (two placebo-controlled trials of one branded product, 2–3 weeks)
  • More self-rated calmness early after a single low dose (one laboratory study)

Side effects & cautions

  • Lower alertness: self-rated alertness fell at every time point after a single 900mg dose, and some doses lowered memory scores. Next-day effects of an evening dose were not measured
  • An extract supplying 500mg/day of rosmarinic acid showed no differences from placebo in vital signs or physical and neurological measures over 96 weeks in 323 older adults
  • In a 3-week open-label study at 200–400mg/day, liver and kidney blood tests did not change and no adverse effects were reported
  • We reviewed no human data on interactions with sedatives, sleep medication, alcohol or thyroid medication, or on use in pregnancy and breastfeeding; absence of evidence is not evidence of safety

How to take

Dosage400mg/day of a standardised phospholipid-carrier extract (as 2 × 200mg) in its two placebo-controlled sleep trials; 200mg/day was tested only in an open-label study, with half the sleep-score change of 400mg/day
TimingIn the crossover sleep trial, two 200mg tablets 30 minutes before bed; in the 3-week trial, 200mg twice daily after meals.
With foodThe trials set no rule; one sleep trial gave the tablets after meals.
FormsTablets, capsules, dried leaf or drinks. The extract in the two placebo-controlled sleep trials we cite is Relissa, an aqueous leaf extract standardised to 17–23% hydroxycinnamic acid derivatives in a phospholipid carrier; other trials used dried leaf, other standardised extracts or rosmarinic-acid extracts. A label that does not state the extract type or standardisation cannot be matched to any trial.

Frequently asked questions

Does any lemon balm extract work the same way?

No. The two placebo-controlled sleep trials we cite used one branded phospholipid-carrier extract at 400mg/day. Trials of dried leaf, other extracts or herbal combinations are not evidence for it, and a product that does not state its extract type or standardisation cannot be compared with them.

What dose was tested for sleep?

400mg/day of the phospholipid-carrier extract, as two 200mg tablets, in its two placebo-controlled trials. 200mg/day was tested only in an open-label study without placebo, where sleep scores improved half as much as at 400mg/day (−15% vs −30%). 200mg is also below the lowest single dose (300mg) in the calm and memory study.

Will lemon balm make me drowsy the next day?

Unknown. A single 900mg dose lowered self-rated alertness in a laboratory study, but no trial measured the next-day effects of an evening dose.

Who funded the research?

The authors of the crossover sleep trial include the scientific director of and consultants to Pharmextracta, maker of the tested product, and the open-label study disclosed that Relissa is an Indena trademark. No independent replication of the sleep results was found.

Lemon Balm (Melissa officinalis) in Japan

Products in Japan

None of the stacks we have audited are listed in our catalogue in Japan yet.

Consumer Affairs Agency (FFC)

Regulatory note

本ページは教育目的の編集コンテンツであり、医学的助言を構成するものではありません。日本国内で販売される機能性表示食品(FFC)および特定保健用食品(FOSHU)は、消費者庁への届出または許可を必要とします。届出のない輸入品については、日本の薬機法(旧薬事法)の下で疾病治療を示唆する表現は規制されます。サプリメントを開始する前に、必ず資格のある医療専門家にご相談ください。This page is editorial and not medical advice. Foods with Function Claims (FFC) and Foods for Specified Health Uses (FOSHU) sold in Japan require notification or approval from the Consumer Affairs Agency. Imported products without notification cannot make disease-treatment claims under the Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices (PMD) Act. Consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any supplement.

Sources (6)expand